Dog License Information
Dog License Information

Documents:


Frequently Asked Questions:

Q: Does my dog need license?

A: Yes. All dogs over three months of age must be licensed.

Q: How often does the license have to be renewed?

A: Dog licenses must be renewed annually between the first Monday in December and January 31st.

Q: How much does a dog license cost?

A: The base fee for a dog license is $15 annually. The dog license fee will be $15 annually, per the Seneca County Commissioners.

Q: How can I avoid late fees?

A: After Jan. 31 the fees double for all dogs owned more than 30 days. After Jan. 31, if you wait more than 30 days to license a dog over three months of age, the Auditor is required to assess a penalty equal to the fee.

Q: How do I replace a lost license?

A: If you or your pet loses a license, you can obtain a duplicate tag for $5.00.

Q: How do I transfer a license to a new owner?

A: The ownership of a current dog license can be transferred to another owner for $5.00.

Q: Where can I purchase a dog license?

A: Dog licenses can be purchased at the Seneca County Auditor’s office, 109 S. Washington St., Suite 2206, Tiffin, Ohio 44883. Hours are 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday, 419-447-0692.

Q: Can I purchase a dog license by mail?

A: If you would like to purchase a dog license by mail, contact the Seneca County Auditor’s office, 419-447-0692, and request a dog license application. Complete the form and mail both copies and a check for $15 per dog back to the Auditor’s Office, 109 S. Washington St., Suite 2206, Tiffin, OH 44883 and your tag and receipt will be mailed back to you.

Q: What if I move?

A: If you move, call 419-447-0692 with your new address and phone number


For more information:

Call the Seneca County Dog Warden, 419-448-5097 or the Seneca County Auditor’s Office, 419-447-0692.